Half A World Away is now available! You can order it through a myriad of subscription streaming services, such as Pandora and Spotify, among others. It is also available at iTunes, Amazon and CDBaby. Thanks for listening. Enjoy!


Please enjoy a few of Hugh's Youtube videos, including, Fruitcake. It was nominated for Best Original Song through Indi.com. All of Hugh's videos are available on his Youtube page (Hugh Willard). Click on the Music link at the top of this page to find footage from one of my house concerts as well.

​​​For many, many years, Hugh Willard has been singing and performing in a multitude of settings, from churches to prisons, from barns to bars, from baseball stadiums to backyard bonfires. He sings and plays guitar in the rock band, Thursday's Flight, but also finds his home in the classic singer-songwriter, contemporary folk tradition. He's written many songs of love and loss, a few of whimsy and mirth, and even the occasional commentary on our social condition. Hugh also serves on the board of the North Carolina Songwriters Co-Op. His first solo album, Half A World Away, was released in April, 2017. His second studio album, A New Morning, should be released in the spring of 2018. Stay tuned!

Reverbnation Review for Half A World Away:

Lovely, evoked a range of emotions and interest. A cross between Willie Nelson and Bob Dylan, only Hugh's voice was more melodic. The instruments had a beautiful sound, and did not overpower the voice and lyrics. 

Upcoming Gigs​​​

  • ​The Mill, Fuquay-Varina, (solo) Feb 16th, 7:30-10:30
  • The Station, Carrboro (solo) Feb 25th 1-4pm
  • Bottle Rev, Apex (solo) Mar 10th, 6-9pm
  • ​Rick Danger, stage play (with Thursday's Flight), Holly Springs Cultural Center, Mar 23-24 7pm
  • ​Festival of Legends, Apex (solo) Apr 14th, 2-2:30
  • Piedmont Earth Day Fair, Winston-Salem (solo) Apr 21 time TBA

Enjoy a few of Hugh's songs here:

Hugh Willard

​​Singer-Songwriter, Author

  • Half A World Away 43:55
  • Oak Ridge, Summer 1976 II5:20
  • Silver Turnstile4:00
  • Uneasy Peace 24:10
  • An Irish Son's Lament2:56
  • Alchemy5:16